RSS

Day 11 (5/11/11) Cathedrals, Park Guell, and Expensive Tapas

11 May

The Sagrada Familia (Gaudi’s most famous cathedral) was our first order of business today. After breakfast, we walked on over there, via the Block of Discord, to glance at Gaudi’s Casa Batllo and Casa Mila. I was so happy that I got to go into the Sagrada Familia again. It’s STILL my favorite cathedral that I’ve ever seen. After that, we went on a little bus tour around the city. Got off at Olympic Park and explored around there for a bit. It was so neat to see the stadium and the torch stand that was used back in ’92.

After that, we went to grab a bit to eat at the big open air market. I went back to my favorite pasta place that I went to the last time I was here. Got some spinach and ricotta ravioli with pesto on top. SO good. I could tell that the pasta was homemade. It was delicious.

Went back and had a siesta. Then took the bus over to Park Guell (by Gaudi, which was meant to be a housing development for the rich, but never got finished) to explore for a bit.I saw a lot of neat architecture there that I hadn’t seen when I was there a month ago.

Walked back to the main part of the city to grab a drink and watch the game. Barcelona vs. Valencia tonight, fighting for La Liga. Barcelona won! (Even though the game was a tie.) But soccer goes by a points system, so apparently, they somehow were a point ahead of Valencia. ANYWAYS….the streets were nuts after the game. It was awesome. Every single car and motorcycle on the street was honking, and everyone was chanting and waving flags.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 11, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
