RSS

Day 34 (6/3/11) Abbey Road, and the Best Night of My LIFE!

04 Jun

A SUNNY day in London Town. (We were quite lucky for that.) Started our day off by stopping at Starbucks. (apparently, there are over 300 Starbucks in London. I’m not surprised. Maybe I’ll get a job at one of THESE someday!) J Then, we walked over to Buckingham Palace to watch the changing of the guard. It was packed. Luckily, my mom hoisted me up onto a railing, where I could watch it, and get some good pictures.

After that, we took the tube to Baker Street, to go to the Beatles store. After that, we went to Abbey Road. We must have been there for a half hour trying to get the perfect, Beatles’ like album cover shot. J It was fun. And a bit frustrating. I didn’t realize that Abbey Road is actually kind of a busy street. Tourists feel rushed to quickly stand on the crosswalk, get their picture, and go, before getting hit by a local in their car. (I feel bad for the locals. I’m sure they’re driven NUTS by all of this touristy Abbey Road stuff).

After a million takes of that, we hopped a double decker bus to the marble arch, where we stopped to eat lunch at Mark’s and Spencer. Yum. Took a walk around Hyde Park, and sat under a tree by the Princess Diana Memorial for a while. The memorial is a giant ring of water that little kids can play in. (What a perfect idea, since Lady D was a preschool teacher, after all).

Came back to the hotel, and started getting ready to go see “Phantom of the Opera” at Her Majesty’s Theatre. My mom wanted me to sit in between her and dad (since they had seen the show a couple times before) so they could see my reactions. And they sure were entertained. I was wide eyed and jaw dropped for practically the whole thing. We were in the second row, and right in the center. In the beginning (after the auction scene) the famous “Phantom of the Opera” organs started piping and booming throughout the whole theatre. What an adrenaline rush! The chandelier was hoisted right up over our heads (which, obviously means it FELL right above our heads, too, in the end of Act 1.) I cried 4 times watching this show. It was so magical. Christine was my favorite. It’s one thing to listen to all of these singers on a CD, but another to be there in person hearing them (let alone in the second row). It was so moving. I was bawling by the end. I’m so thankful I got to see this. I’ve been wanting to for years. This had to have been one of the best nights of my life. J

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 4, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
